Every writer starts somewhere. They have that one manuscript that they wrote in full but is now sitting on a shelf, in a box, or in a file on their computer. I have that very same manuscript that I wrote a while back and now, I want to bring it back to life.

The hard part about that is you almost always rewrite your entire book. For me, that’s exactly what I plan on doing. Under The Willow Tree is a young adult fantasy about a supernatural race around the world. Every word I wrote years ago doesn’t even come close to how I would write today. So, what’s my point? The point is, I have begun to outline and work on my character profiles and I’d love to share a bit with you all.

This is the very first paragraph in my original story:

I make my final strides to the marina entrance, ready for an early’s day of work.  Five days a week a barge docks at the marina and the islanders unload the unwanted fruit they bring from Neuphoria. Whatever you unload you get to keep, so I try to make it everyday. Any fruit that isn’t unloaded they dump into the ocean. It’s wasteful. 

keep calm

And this is the updated version:

Where I live, people die all the time, every day, sometimes every hour. There’s no safe, secluded place on the island that will keep you completely hidden, save for a few large Willow trees that I have made into my own personal shelter. With Basil by my side I am as safe as anyone is going to get on the Islands of Cadeaux.

This is only the beginning. I’m sure this first chapter will change again in the future, but it’s a start.

What story is in the makeover process for you? Do you have a plan on what you want to change? Are you just going to scrap the whole thing and completely start over?

