Tags

, , , , ,

As many may know, Kade Cook is an author with Rambunctious Ramblings Publishing, Inc., and I had the chance to ask her some questions about being an author!

So, Kade, tell me a little about yourself. I am a coffee addicted writer that sings, dances and blogs from my kitchen bubble about whatever enters my mind and scribbles away about my book on my blog. I love everything reading, writing and artistic. I spend most of my time chasing around my incredible children that I hope one day will grow up reading and enjoying books as much as I do.

kadesymbol

This symbol is made by Kade herself.

 

Sounds like you have a lot of fun. That brings me to my first question, what is your book called and what’s it about? (Okay, two questions.)  GREY is the story about a young logically wired psychologist who is thrown into a supernatural world that is anything but logical and must find control of her true self in order to survive the Darkness that haunts her. It takes you through her trials and tribulation of learning to walk again as a stranger in a world that is no longer familiar to her.

It is everyday life, infused with magical elements just beneath its surface.

Wow! So fascinating. Is this part of a series?  Yes, GREY is book one of The Covenant of Shadows Trilogy or series, I haven’t exactly decided if there will be a fourth. It is out lined but we will see how it goes.

The trilogy is a journey of growth and enlightenment, of seeing things in a different light than what had once been allowed in order to shelter a child from unnecessary truths of her heritage. A discovery of the real spirit inside that refuses to be contained and conform any longer.

I personally can’t wait to read this. So, what inspired you to write this book?  Well I have been sitting on a book idea for more than 20 years but was always afraid to do it. I was terrified every time I thought about how I would make the characters talk, so I buried it. After years of being home with the kids, not doing any kind a cerebral work I began to get bored and it showed. One day my husband said to me: ”if you are so bored then why don’t you write a book.”kadecook

So…I did.

And boy was he sorry. But I put away my fears of dialogue and just began to write. Little did I know that when it was time for the characters to speak, they did exactly that. Loud and clear. There was no longer any fear of ‘how’ they would say it, just nervousness and exhilaration of ‘what’ they would say.

How long have you been writing?  I have written my entire life but only in song, music and in poetry. It was just until 2015 that I actually put pencil to paper in an attempt to create a novel. Mind you I have lived in the land of make believe since I was able to recall, writing everything out mentally as I went. Life just seemed more interesting that way.

Would you consider yourself an outliner or pantser?  I would have to say both. Though the skeleton of the story, once it reveals itself, is normally figured out to the best of my abilities first. Then I just let the story go, with minimal guidance and allow the muscles to take form on the bones naturally, unforced. I let the characters have as much room as they need to find themselves and the message they want to show me. I basically just take notes as quickly as I can before they change their minds. Which sometimes they do.

I’m a bit of both myself. That reminds me, how long, on average, does it take you to write a book?  GREY’s first draft was written and completed (without edits) in five months. But book two is taking a bit longer. With edits to GREY, time spent publicizing its birth and then of course life in general, things are moving along more slowly but they are still moving. That is the main thing. I am hoping to have it done by end of summer, then start on book three. Which has already been out lined and waiting my attention.

Sounds like a ton of work and dedication to writing. What else do you do for fun? What are your hobbies?  Let’s see, I garden in the summer, I run to the hockey rinks all winter long, I sing and dance in the kitchen when no one is watching and I read and read and read some more. Once in a while, I even wander down the road and hang out with some of the folks that live in my incredible neighborhood.

That makes me want to come to your house for a week and hang out with you. But I’d love to know where you would like to visit that you haven’t been before.  Oh, that is an unfair question. I cannot pick just one… but, hmm, okay here is one place I would love to go: Europe. That is one place right? Hee hee

Yes! I would call it a place. I would love to go to Europe. Kade, if I told you that I won the lottery and bought you an island, what would you name it? And who would live there with you?  The veil. Non-fictional? I would take all my neighbors and my family. Fictional? Any of the Schaeduwe – Shadow Walkers, from my book. They can jump in and out of shadows at will, arriving anywhere at any time, pretty handy when you are on an island. OH and did I mention they are wickedly cute?kadedog

That sounds awesome and a fun place to go. I’ll add it to my list of places I want to visit. Okay, now on to the more important questions: Do you have any pets?  I have a beta fish, well, I don’t… my four year old does, named Rainbow. We used to have a Rough Collie named Indy but he went to the clouds last summer.

Aw, he is adorable. I’m sure Indy enjoys the freedom from up above. Here’s another important question: What is the weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten?  A frog… and you know what? It does taste like chicken. So, yah.

In light of the strange questions, if you could bring one of your characters to life, who would it be?  Oh, wow. Just one? Well I guess maybe Ethan Borne. He has been around for a while, and has an open outlook on the way the world works. He has seen many sides of what life gives you but still manages to find the goodness in everyone. I like him.

He sounds so interesting! Do you have any advice for other writers?  Regardless of what anyone else thinks or feels or tells you what you should do, write for you. Not for them. Do it for yourself. Build the world that you want to see and always believe in that dream of seeing it through. It’s your dream, defend it.

Would you mind sharing a little bit of your book with us?  Here is a small snippet from GREY:

“Everything alright in there?” Knowing full well that it was not, Sarapheane wanted to comfort Gabrian.

“Yeah, mom,” Gabrian says, lying through her teeth. “Migraine, I will be alright. I just need to lay down.” Her head hurt, her mind hurt, her whole body hurt. Nothing felt good.  All she wanted was to go to bed and wake up better in the world she knew before the auras started.

“Are you sure?”

“Yes.  I’m sure.” 

For a moment Gabrian wishes that she was a little girl again. That her mom would come tuck her into bed and tell her that everything will be ok.

That there isn’t anything hiding under her bed in the shadows.

That there is nothing to be afraid of in the Darkness.

And that she wasn’t a monster.

I’m very intrigued by this snippet. If you are just as interested in this book as I am, you’re going to have to wait in line! GREY is set to be released on August 15, 2016. Only a few short months away and we get to take a look at this book!kadepic

If you would like to follow Kade and The Covenant of Shadows Trilogy please do so below.

WordPress     Facebook     Twitter     LinkedIn   Google     Goodreads     Tumblr

I had so much fun talking with Kade. She has been a peach to work with at RRPI and I wish her and her books the best of luck. Happy Friday the 13th!

Please don’t forget, if you have a creative person you would like me to interview, leave me a comment and I’ll get right on it.

