Tags

, , , , , ,

Recently, I’ve made so many new friends including several authors from one of my publishers, Clean Reads. It’s great to get to know new people and check out what they are working on. Today I’d like to introduce L.E. Fred! LE Fred

L. E. Fred is a YA author so wrapped up in her own worlds, that she had to write them all down. Beginning her journey with Devon’s world, L. E. Fred writes books to inspire young adults to find their hidden potential and become the hero they wish to be. With stories ranging from fantasy, to sci-fi, to even a splash of romance, L. E. Fred writes for the young adults she admires and wishes to inspire. Her stories are heavily influenced by her love for travel, and every new experience inspires another story to tell.
L. E. Fred currently lives in New Orleans (not for long!) with her family and red, fluffy dog.
lefredL.E. can you tell us about your upcoming book?   My recent release is Reverie, the sequel in my Lucid series. Reverie continues the adventures of Devon, Kyle, and Mitch as they face the perils of the Dream World to save both the real world and the people of the Dream World.
Can you tell us a little bit about the series?   Lucid is a YA fantasy series about a 15 year-old boy Devon who’s been tasked with saving the world. One night, he dreams about being on a spaceship. He sees other people on the spaceship, but he thinks nothing of it. The next day, he sees on the news that people are being put into inexplicable comas all over the world. He recognizes some of the coma victims from his dream and knows he must figure out what’s going on. What starts as teenage curiosity becomes a fast-paced adventure in a fantastical dream world.
Wow! That sounds awesome! What inspired you to write your first book? Lucid was inspired by my own personal struggles with sleep paralysis. That’s when you wake up mid-dream unable to move. It’s usually accompanied by some pretty freaky hallucinations which can lead to some scary moments. I always wondered what would happen if I was unable to wake up, which led to my fabrication of a separate Dream World.
Very interesting! So, how long have you been writing?   I’ve been writing since I was in 6th grade. I still remember being assigned my first creative writing assignment. What was supposed to be a 2-page story turned into a 14-page novella. I still have plans on turning that story into a novel!
L.E. are you a full-time or part-time writer?  And how do you find or make time to write?   Well, I’m no J.K. Rowling…yet. So writing isn’t my day-job. I have many passions, though, so I don’t mind sharing my writing time. I treat writing like a workout and discipline myself to do it every day. Some days are better than others, but if I’m writing, I’m happy.
Okay, one more question before we get to the fun ones. How do you get through the dreaded writer’s block?  Writers block is just a fancy word for being LAZY! No, seriously, it is an obstacle I’m suffering with as of late. I find experiencing new things like traveling to a new city or even visiting a new coffee shop jolts me back into a writing mode. I love experiencing new things, and getting out of my comfort zone usually sparks some new material.
dog
That sounds like excellent advice. Now, the most important question of the day: Do you have any pets? (You know us writers like to keep furry friends.)   I have a fluffy red dog named Ragu. He’s my partner-in-crime 🙂
Aw! He sounds so fun!  Tea or coffee?    Wine 😉
Fair enough. Where is one place you want to visit that you haven’t been before?   I’ve always wanted to go to Dublin. I studied abroad in the UK, but I never got the time to visit Ireland. Since half my family comes from the Emerald Isles, I know I gotta get over there!
Oh, I’d love to go there! If I told you that I was buying you an island, what would you name it? And who would live there with you?   I’d name my island Fabrica, and I’d invite all of my friends and family to have a massive beach party for forever and ever!
Party on L.E.’s island! And lastly, what do you do for fun outside of writing books?  Aside from writing, my big hobbies are singing and playing guitar. I’m a professional singer, and I play guitar at a local bar. I also cosplay and make my own costumes of my favorite video game and anime characters. It’s so much fun to be a character for the day!
I’m a big fan of Renaissance fairs. I know how fun that can be!  What are you currently working on so we have an idea for the future?   My current WIP is an urban fantasy that takes place in my hometown, New Orleans. It deals with a mixture of mythology tied in with the changes taking place in the Big Easy. I love playing a tourist in my own hometown to do research!
lucid
Your life sounds so fun! If you want to keep in touch with L.E. Fred you can follow her on Facebook and Twitter.
To get your hands on the Lucid series, you can find them here: AmazonB&N,  Smashwords, Kobo, and iTunes.
To purchase Reverie, find them here: Amazon and Smashwords.
I hope you enjoyed this interview. Please contact me if you would like to see a certain author or creative person interviewed. Next week I will be talking with Artemis Grey!
