Tags

, , ,

What is the Genesis Girl? Jennifer Bardsley has created an amazing story about Vestals, Viruses, and living life separated by technology.Genesis Girl Cover

Eighteen-year-old Blanca has lived a sheltered life. Her entire childhood has been spent at Tabula Rasa School where she’s been protected from the Internet. Blanca has never been online and doesn’t even know how to text. Her lack of a virtual footprint has made her extremely valuable and upon graduation Blanca, and those like her, are sold to the highest bidders. Blanca is purchased by Cal McNeal, who uses her to achieve personal gain. But the McNeal’s are soon horrified by just how obedient and non-defiant Blanca is. All those mind-numbing years locked away from society have made her mind almost impenetrable. By the time Blanca is ready to think for herself, she is trapped. Her only chance of escape is to go online.
For me, it can take a few days to a couple months to read a book. It depends on how captivated I am with the story and the characters. Genesis Girl threw me for a loop with the very first sentence. It wasn’t my favorite way to start the book, but I kept reading and boy am I glad I did. This book only took me two days to read. I was floored by the plot, characters, and writing. Jennifer Bardsley is a phenomenal writer.
What was my favorite part of this book? I’d have to say the creation of technology and how Jennifer made it seem so real. These days, people are always on their phones, always blogging, never getting a break from computer screens. In Genesis Girl, there are the Vestals. They are pure, free from technology and innocent from the corruptions of the world. I love the main character, Blanca, and her arc through the entire book.
Would I recommend this book to others? YES! Over and over and over again. I suggest everyone get their copy when it’s released. You will be amazed by Genesis Girl, just like I was. Teens and adults of all ages would have fun reading this spectacular book. I give this book five stars!

5starsJennifer Bardsley is the author of GENESIS GIRL, which debuts September 27, 2016 from Jennifer Bardsley-genesis girlMonth9Books. She also writes the column “I Brake for Moms” for the Sunday edition of The Everett Daily Herald and blogs at Teaching My Baby to Read. Jennifer is a graduate of Stanford University and a member of SCBWI. She lives with her husband and two children in Edmonds, WA. Jennifer is represented by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Literary Agency LLC.

Chapter-by-Chapter-blog-tour-button

I have reviewed this book for the Chapter-by-Chapter Blog Tour happening June 13-24. You can find the tour schedule here to check out other reviews.

 

You can also check out the book trailer here.

I hope you have enjoyed my review and you can pre-order Genesis Girl on Amazon.

