Tags

, , , ,

Life isn’t what it used to be. It’s so sad that everyone has to live in fear of dying. There have been so many shootings all over the world, with no rhyme or reason. It’s a depressing world and while some live carefree and happy, others are living day to day with panic sitting in their veins. They mull over each shooting in their head and can’t escape the horror of today’s society. People are afraid to leave their homes, their families; they’re afraid to live. It’s sick. 

One simply fireworks show make people panic. 

I was in the movie theater tonight and thought it might be my time to go. There were small pops outside our theatre room and they steadily got faster and louder, but kept a steady rhythm. Everyone in the audience started whispering and looking around, completely ignoring the movie we all paid for. That’s when I started getting nervous. I started planning in my head on what I would do if there really was a shooter in another room. 

When the pops sounded at rapid speed, people shot from their seats, screaming and running toward the exits. 

I kept asking my husband, What’s going on? What’s going on? The only reason I didn’t fall apart and start running was because of my husband. He stayed calm and collected. He had his own plan. I trusted him and didn’t want to leave his side. 

The moment someone opened the emergency door to the outside they saw the fireworks. The terror died down. People returned to their seats. They thanked the person sitting next to them. They might have even thanked God or whoever they may believe in. 

This all happened within 3 mins, but it was the longest most terrifying 3 mins of my life. 

I’m disappointed in the world and don’t want to live in fear anymore. We all need to change. We need to make this country safer, more accepting, and less terrifying. I’d like to one day go back to the movies and not fear that the person in the row behind me is unstable and is ready to end lives. That’s not how anyone should live. 

