Author Interview: Sara R. Turnquist

Hey ya’ll! I have a special guest with me today and she’s talking about her book and fun facts about herself. Check it out!

hopeincripplecreek_1400x2100

Hope In Cripple Creek

Amidst devastation and loss, can one woman find love?

Tragedy strikes Katherine Matthews and the small town of Cripple Creek, Colorado. An epidemic teams her with an old enemy, Wyatt Sullivan, the town’s doctor. In the midst of desperation and death, Katherine has decisions to make. But she has no idea to what extent they will affect her daily life and livelihood. The town is turned upside-down when the gold miners go on strike. The owners bring in outside reinforcements, ready to break the resolve of the Western Federation of Miners. Everything in an upheaval, Katherine faces a crisis of faith and hard choices. Will life ever be normal again?

What inspired you to write this book?

I have always loved this time period from shows like Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman. I wanted to set it somewhere in Colorado. My husband who has lived in Colorado suggested Cripple Creek as it was a small-ish town there. When I began researching Cripple Creek, I found this story of this rather famous mine strike that took place there around this time. So, I decided to set my story during that strike and incorporate it in the story. So, part of the story is based on the true history of the strike (featuring the main character’s brother) and it’s woven in and around the love story.

How long have you been writing?

I’ve always kind of written short stories and fan fiction (surprisingly, not Dr. Quinn, but Star Trek 🙂 ) But I was in college (many moons ago) when I started the manuscript which would become my second published novel, The General’s Wife.

Are you an outliner or pantser?

I am a born pantser. But, the longer I am writing and learning, the more I am becoming a PLANTSER (plannter/pantser). I do some planning (mostly with characters) up front, and then let the story take me away. That part will never change.

hicc1-2Any tips on how to get through the dreaded writer’s block?

Inspiration is not always going to be there, sometimes you have to find the muse. Your determination is up to you. I would suggest that you use google to search for “writing prompts” or just start journaling. Sometimes you have to “prime the pump” as they say. And it’s true. If you will start writing anything, even if you don’t feel it, you will be surprised how quickly your mind will get flowing again. Many writers will edit the previous days’ scene(s) to prime the pump before getting started on their day’s work.

What are your hobbies aside from writing?

I love to read, paint, scrapbook, sing, play the piano, but between my three little kiddos, the house, groceries, laundry, cooking, and whatnot, I rarely have time for anything other than writing.

Where is one place you want to visit that you haven’t been before?

Egypt…I’d love to see the pyramids for myself.

You were just given an Island. What would you name it? And who would live there with you?

A name…oh, I don’t know…”Peace” sounds good. My family and friends. But the kids would have their own section of the island with a barrier to the water.

Weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten.

I am NOT an adventurous eater, but I did try alligator once. Tasted like chicken. No joke. Like really chewy chicken.

If you could bring one of your characters to life, who would it be?

My mind ran through my heroines first, then the heros…best not think about that (my husband isn’t reading this is he?)…I like all of my heroines, but I really like the handmaiden of my heroine in The General’s Wife, Alonah. She was such a fun character to write. And she is enough like me that we would get along, but different enough that we wouldn’t butt heads. I think we’d be great friends.

hicc3-2

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Have determination. Just as I said before, no one will caretake your writing journey for you. You have to do it. And sometimes that means writing when you don’t feel like it. Sometimes that means stretching yourself in the area of marketing when you don’t want to.

Can you share an excerpt of your book with us?

Absolutely!!  EXCERPT:

“Katie!” Someone shook her, rubbing her face. “Katie!”

Her eyes opened. There was no tunnel, no Ellie Mae. Katherine was in the hotel room in Denver with Wyatt. He leaned over her, hands on her arms, shaking her awake. Ellie was dead and had been for many years. Katherine lay covered in a layer of sweat as tears flowed down her face.

“Katie, are you all right?” Wyatt asked, his voice now gentle as he pushed her hair out of her face. He sat on the edge of the bed and pulled her into his embrace. “That must have been some nightmare. But you’re safe.”

Katherine did feel safe in his arms, but the memory of what happened to Ellie was fresh in her mind, in her heart, and she couldn’t let herself remain in Wyatt Sullivan’s embrace. She pushed at him to create some distance between them.

She smacked at her face, wiping the tears away. “I’m fine,” she lied.

His eyes darkened. Who cared if he didn’t believe her?

But she would have none of his comforting. The wound was fresh. He had left Ellie Mae behind.

img_7676Sara is originally from Middle Tennessee where she currently resides with her family. She is a prolific reader and enjoys reading and writing clean Historical Romance. Her travels have also served to inspire her writing. Sara is the author of The Lady Bornekova, The General’s Wife, and Off to War. She is also a member of ACFW.

If you are as excited as I am about this book, you can purchase it on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, or Kobo!

Check out the book trailer for Hope In Cripple Creek here!

One thought on “Author Interview: Sara R. Turnquist

Leave a comment