Tags

, , , ,

My good friend tagged me on her YouTube channel for this writer tag. I will be doing mine on my blog since I’m a bit camera shy.

Writer Tag!
1. What do you eat or drink while writing? I like to stick with water while I’m writing though every now and then I prefer some mint tea or a Coke. As for food, I’m not picky. Twizzlers are good to chew on and don’t get my fingers dirty when grabbing for another one between paragraphs. tea
2. What do you listen to while writing? I don’t like listening to music when I write at home, because it distracts me, but if for some reason I’m out and about and have some time in the car to type a few things on my tablet, then music is a must. I’m strange, I know.
3. What is your biggest distraction while you’re writing? My biggest distraction is the stinkin’ internet. Why did someone have to invent the internet? If I an not in a good flow of writing, I tend to be surfing. And not the waves at the beach.
4. What is the worst thing that has happened to you while writing? I’m not sure I’ve had anything bad happen when I’m writing. So far my writing life is relatively calm. That’s not to say something absurd won’t happen in the future though!
5. What is the best thing that has ever happened to you while writing? Getting a great idea for my story or another one, or finding the perfect title. Nothing too spectacular so far. I must be the only boring writer in the world, nothing good or bad happens to me.
6. Who do you communicate with while you’re writing? Usually Alyssa, my friend in Spain. We have similar taste in books and love fangirling over something we’ve read or written. I share almost all my stories with her and she does the same, I think… and we have awesome brainstorming sessions once a week or so to knock over any walls our writing has built. We probably talk every day.

Then there’s my sister, Elena, who also writes and shares her stories with me. Which they are amazing. I only really share my fantasy stories with her because that’s what she’s interested in and I help her any way I can.
7. What is your secret to success and your biggest writing flaw? My secret to success is to never give up and don’t procrastinate. I’m a big procrastinator but when I want to accomplish something and I have a goal, I usually follow through with it.

My biggest flaw is that I skip around with stories too much. If I can focus on writing just one story or series and getting it edited then work on the next, I might be better off, but I can’t. I like to work on more than one story at a time.

music8. What is your inspiration? What makes you productive? Inspiration for me comes from many things. It may be a song I heard on the radio, or the person living down the hall. I may have seen someone walk down the street and created a whole life for them in my head or recreated a life from someone I already know. Alyssa or Elena and I will get talking and will come up with a whole story by the end of our conversation. It all depends.

As for what makes me productive; it’s about wanting to get those stories out of my head and onto paper or the computer. I want to finish these projects so readers can enjoy them. If I find an author I like, I want to be able to read more of their books, so for those that have read Bleeding Hearts and loved it, don’t worry, I’m writing more books for you!
9. What is one thing that you do or that other writers do that is super annoying? I don’t like the word ‘decide’ or any variation of it. I try my darnest not to use that word in any of my books and really can’t stand it when other writers use it. I hardly ever use it when I’m talking either. I don’t know why I don’t like the word, I just don’t. LOL
10. Are you willing to share something you’ve written? Yes, always! Here is an excerpt from a new fantasy book I’m writing called Under The Grave.

In a whisper of a breath, I pull the trigger.  

The bullet hits my target.  

Before anyone can react, I fire another bullet into Sylvia. The governor falls off her stool, blank eyes staring down her followers. Sylvia tumbles down beside her, like dominoes stacking upon another. 

“Get out!” Hart urges. My adrenaline propels my next moves. I pack up my rifle and crawl backwards out of the air vent, not caring if I make noise. A stampede of frightened partiers and voters flood the area.  

People scream. Fear is a tangible thing that slithers through the halls and grips each body, including mine.

Sentries run into the building. Tears stream down every cheek. And somehow I feel better. I smile, realizing no one will know her plans. The Revolutionaries are safe for another day.   

The halls of the conference building start to fill wall to wall with frantics and my escape plan needs to be changed. Even though I’ve chosen a desolate hallway to follow through with my orders, it’s now slammed with witnesses. Drunken people want somewhere to hide from the gunner, from me.

fallbook

